Museum Stift Klosterneuburg - Sala terrena Gallery - The Good Works

ll

Eva Kaiser - "Breath of life" - 100 x 140 - mixed media on canvas

01.05.2023 -15.11.2023  

 

The Good Works - Artistic Postures on Charity

 

"This verse from the last chapter of the Epistle to the Galatians by the Apostle Paul accentuates his top sentence only a few lines earlier: "For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: You shall love your neighbour as yourself: (Gal 5:14). Among the Gospel passages that illustrate this core sentence, the corporal works of mercy stand out (Mt 25:34-46). Matthew's so-called end-time discourse speaks of six ways of acting.

The exhibition "The Good Works" deals with the broad area of Christian charity, made tangible through the "Six Works of Mercy" mentioned in Matthew 25: "Feed the hungry" - "Give drink to the thirsty" - "Clothe the naked" - "Welcome strangers" - "Visit the sick" - "Visit prisoners".

Already the church father Laktanz (died 325) added a seventh work with "Burying the Dead", whose biblical foundation can be found in the Old Testament Book of Tobit.

If one tries to apply this to today, the topicality of the subject becomes apparent: one spontaneously associates terms such as development aid, care for the sick, care for the homeless, care for refugees, the problem of beggars, modern penal system, but also the palliative movement, funeral services, etc.

The exhibition spans the spectrum from medieval to contemporary art. It demonstrates with many examples how socially engaged artists at all times have been able to bring this historical pictorial tradition into their respective present, developing and reshaping it.

Mother Theresa    Eva Kaiser - "Goodness" - 45 x 45 - 2011 Acrylic on canvas

The canon of saints also includes a number of very popular figures who have become the epitome of charity. Think, for example, of St Martin, who according to legend shared his coat with a beggar, or St Elisabeth of Thuringia, who virtually became a symbol of Christian charity. The classic depiction shows her distributing bread to the needy. Among the saints of the more recent past, Mother Teresa should be mentioned.

Curated by Wolfgang Christian Huber

Custodian of the art collections of Klosterneuburg Abbey

 

The exhibition "The Good Works" - Artistic Postions on Charity

is from 1 May to 15 November 2023

daily 9-18 h

on view in the Sala terrena gallery of the monastery

Guided tour: Saturday, Sunday and public holiday at 12.30 and 3 p.m.

 

Klosterneuburg Abbey

Stiftsplatz 1, 3400 Klosterneuburg

 

 

 

ll

Museum Stift Klosterneuburg - Sala terrena Gallery - The Good Works

Good works

The Good Works - Exhibition Klosterneuburg Abbey

IMG 58

onLocation III

cross acceptance768

The Transcendent in the Painting of Eva Kaiser

nitsch follow me

hermann nitsch action painting

Art Event Calendar 2023

Liebburg Art Event Calendar

© 2023 Eva Kaiser - Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Data protection

Museum Stift Klosterneuburg – Sala terrena Galerie – Die guten Werke

ll

Eva Kaiser - "Atem des Lebens" - 100 x 140 - Mischtechnik auf Leinwand

01.05.2023 -15.11.2023  

 

Die guten Werke - künstlerische Postionen zur Nächstenliebe

 

»Einer trage des anderen Last« Dieser Vers aus dem letzten Kapitel des Galaterbriefes vom Apostel Paulus akzentuiert seinen Spitzensatz nur wenige Zeilen zuvor: “Denn das ganze Gesetz ist in dem einen Wort erfüllt: Du sollst deinen Nächsten lieben wie dich selbst: (Gal 5,14). Unter den Evangelienstellen, die diesen Kernsatz anschaulich machen, ragen die leiblichen Werke der Barmherzigkeit heraus (Mt 25,34-46). In der sogenannten Endzeitrede bei Matthäus ist von sechs Handlungsweisen die Rede.

Die Ausstellung "die guten Werken" beschäftigt sich mit dem weiten Bereich der christlichen Nächstenliebe, greifbar gemacht durch die bei Matthäus 25 erwähnten »Sechs Werke der Barmherzigkeit«: »Hungernde speisen« – »Dürstenden zu trinken geben« – »Nackte bekleiden« – »Fremde aufnehmen« – »Kranke besuchen« – »Gefangene besuchen«.

Bereits  der Kirchenvater Laktanz (gestorben 325) fügte mit »Tote begraben« ein siebentes Werk hinzu, dessen biblisches Fundament sich im alttestamentlichen Buch Tobit finden lässt.

Versucht man dies auf die heutige Zeit umzulegen, so zeigt sich die große Aktualität des Themas: Spontan assoziiert man Begriffe wie Entwicklungshilfe, Krankenpflege, Obdachlosenfürsorge, Flüchtlingsbetreuung, die Bettler­ problematik, moderner Strafvollzug, aber auch die Palliativbewegung, Bestattungswesen etc.

Die Ausstellung schlägt den Bogen von mittelalterlicher bis zeitgenössischer Kunst. Sie demonstriert an vielen Beispielen, wie gesellschaftlich engagierte Künstlerinnen und Künstler zu allen Zeiten diese historische Bildtradition in ihre jeweilige Gegenwart holen konnten, sie weiterentwickelt und umgeformt haben.

Mutter Theresa    Eva Kaiser - "Güte" - 45 x 45 - 2011 Acryl auf Leinwand

Auch im Kanon der Heiligen finden sich etliche sehr populäre Figuren, die zum Inbegriff der Nächstenliebe geworden sind. Man denke etwa an den heiligen Martin, der der Legende nach seinen Mantel mit einem Bettler teilte oder die heilige Elisabeth von Thüringen, die geradezu zum Sinnbild christlicher Nächstenliebe avancierte. Die klassische Darstellung zeigt sie beim Verteilen von Brot an Bedürftige. Unter den Heiligen der jüngeren Vergangenheit sei Mutter Teresa erwähnt.

Kuratiert von Wolfgang Christian Huber

Kustus der Kunstsammlungen des Stiftes Klosterneuburg

 

Die Ausstellung "Die guten Werke" - Künstlerische Postionen zur Nächstenliebe

ist von 1.Mai bis 15. November 2023

täglich 9-18 Uhr

in der Sala terrena Galerie des Stiftes zu besichtigen

Führung: Samstag, Sonntag und Feiertag um 12.30 und 15 Uhr

 

Stift Klosterneuburg

Stiftsplatz 1, 3400 Klosterneuburg

 

 

 

Stimme 1

K & K

https cdn.evbuc .com images 720456739 196377824145 1 original

Firenze zur Festzeit

IMG 58

vorOrt III

ll

Museum Stift Klosterneuburg – Sala terrena Galerie – Die guten Werke

nitsch follow me

hermann nitsch aktionsmalerei

IMGP3227 1

Hietzing

© 2023 Eva Kaiser - Sitemap - Impressum - Datenschutz